Sixteen Barley Snyder Attorneys Named to “Best Lawyers” List; Werner Named a “Lawyer of the Year”

Lancaster, Pa. – The prestigious “Best Lawyers” list has named 16 Barley Snyder attorneys to its annual rankings for 2019.

That total represents a 50-percent increase of Barley Snyder attorneys on the list from just two years ago. It’s an all-time high for the firm in more than three decades of the ranking system.

In addition, George C. Werner was named “Lawyer of the Year” in the practice area of Litigation – Construction in the Harrisburg region in 2019. Only one attorney in each practice group in each region earns the distinction of “Lawyer of the Year.”

It’s the second time Werner has earned this distinction. The first time came in 2015, with both designations coming for the practice area of Litigation – Construction. It’s the fourth time a current Barley Snyder attorney has earned a “Lawyer of the Year” recognition.

In large part, the 2019 total jumped because of the Barley Snyder’s new Harrisburg office, which opened at the start of 2018. Four attorneys in that office new to Barley Snyder – Thomas French, Drake Nicholas, Stanley Smith and Robert Tribeck – were named to the list.

“The quality of the Harrisburg team we put together was part of what made our move into the Capitol Region such an easy one to make,” Barley Snyder managing partner Jeff Lobach – himself a Best Lawyers designee – said. “We knew the type of attorneys we were getting, and a list like this validates our move. And having George Werner named ‘Lawyer of the Year’ is another impressive accolade for him in a remarkable career. All of our offices should be extremely proud to have this kind of Barley representation on such an esteemed list that relies on support from their peers.”

Here are the 16 Barley Snyder attorneys that made the list and the 22 practice areas they were named for (practice area in parentheses):

Lauralee B. Baker (Litigation – Health Care)
Thomas Anthony French (Commercial Litigation)
Donald R. Geiter (Mergers and Acquisition Law)
Kathleen A. Gray (Municipal Law)
Charles B. Haws (Environmental Law)
Stephen R. Lazun (Corporate Law)
Jeffrey D. Lobach (Commercial Litigation, Corporate Law)
Paul G. Mattaini (Banking and Finance Law, Corporate Law)
Christopher W. Mattson (Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants)
Paul W. Minnich (Litigation – Real Estate)
Michael L. Mixell (Trusts and Estates)
Drake D. Nicholas (Employee Benefits and ERISA Law)
John T. Reed (Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law)
Stanley A. Smith (Nonprofit/Charities Law, Trusts and Estates)
Robert J. Tribeck (Litigation – Intellectual Property)
George C. Werner (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Banking and Finance, Litigation – Construction, Litigation – First Amendment)

Best Lawyers has released its list each year for more than three decades. The lists are compiled through peer-review surveys in which tens of thousands of attorneys confidentially evaluate their professional peers.